Congratulations Scholarship Winners

Women’s Council Awards $10,000 in Scholarships

 The Greater Iowa City Area HBA Women’s Council recognized the accomplishments and goals of five area graduating high schoolers recently by awarding a total of $11,250 in scholarships. Winners were announced at their school senior nights. They are:

Lauren Floss – Coralville, Iowa

Liberty High School

Attending the University of Iowa to Study Radiation Sciences College of Medicine

Lauren worked with kids through the Montessori School and volunteers at the DVIP Annual Souper Bowl

Anna Marine – Wilton, Iowa

Wilton Jr/Sr High School

Attending University of Iowa to study Piano Performance and Neuroscience

Anna volunteers through her 4-H group as well as the Midwest Mission Distribution Center packing care kits, building decks and recycling bikes.

Ty Becicka – Fairfax, Iowa

Solon High School

Attending Iowa State University to Study Mechanical Engineering

Ty volunteers in the food tent at Solon Beef Days and constructs beds for children through the Sleep in Heavenly Peace Project.


Ty Moore – Keswick, Iowa

English Valley High School

Attending DMACC to Study Business Transfer

Ty volunteers through his FFA group as well as at the school’s concession stand.


Marcus Lofgren – Muscatine, Iowa

Muscatine High School

Attending University of Northern Iowa to Study Construction Management and Real Estate

Marcus’ volunteer efforts include being a blood donor and event volunteer for the Love Like Louden 5K.

The Iowa City Area HBA’s Women’s Council raises scholarship money year-round through HBA meeting raffles, a silent auction and other means. Scholarships mainly go to students wishing to pursue a career in the skilled trades/home building industry.

“The Scholarship Program is something the Iowa City Area HBA works hard to support because we know the tremendous difference it makes for students entering post-secondary education,” said Women’s Council Chair Brogan Messer of Cabinets Galore. “We’re proud of the accomplishments of these individuals and look forward to watching them succeed in their careers.”

Additionally, Becicka and Lofgren earned scholarships through the Home Builders Association of Iowa (HBAI) Educational Corporation. The nonprofit is committed to education and economic empowerment of students entering the building trades. Becicka was awarded the Tim Ruth Scholarship. Iowa City Area HBA 2020 and 2021 scholarship winners Emily Greathouse, a student at Iowa State University, was awarded the David Ealy Memorial Scholarship; Miranda Farr, a student at the University of Wisconsin Platteville won the Tari Dailey Memorial Scholarship; and Helen Bohnsack, a student at Wartburg College received the HBAI Kenny Selzer Scholarship.